Home > Resource Center > IT Packing & Logistics > Chain of Custody > Agencies and Industry Organizations IT Asset Managers Need to Know

Agencies and Industry Organizations IT Asset Managers Need to Know

Agencies and Industry Organizations

At IAITAM ACE 2022, government agencies and industry associations were mentioned alongside a slew of standards and certifications. If you’ve ever wanted to know who these organizations are and what they mean to you (or ITAM in general), the full list is here.

ITAM-industry Agencies and Organizations

ADISA – Asset Disposal and Information Security Alliance

ADISA is a UK-based organization providing certification of sanitization devices used in the disposition of information and communication technology (ICT). 

Visit ADISA  >

ASCDI – Association of Service, Communications, Data and ITAD providers

ASCDI is a not-for-profit industry primarily for IT asset and telecom equipment resellers. It promotes and enforces ethical standards of business conduct within the industry and represents and promotes its members to end users, manufacturers, government agencies and the media. ASCDI also provides forums to educate and exchange information, trends and ideas among its global membership and industry suppliers.

For IT asset managers, ASCDI is a partner resource for qualified ITAD and secondary market vendors needed for provisioning, maintenance and disposition services.

Guardian Data Destruction is a proud member of ASCDI. See all our memberships and certifications >   

Watch our past ASCDI disposITion conference presentations >

Visit ASCDI >

DOD – United States Department of Defense

The DOD developed the original industry standard (DoD 5220.22-M) for data sanitization “wiping” in 2006. Commonly referred to as the DOD 3-Pass Wipe Standard, it was suitable for hard drive technology of the time. Although still suitable for legacy hard drives, NIST standards for data sanitization are a vastly improved and more common, modern standard. The NIST 800.88 US government standard includes an exhaustive list of storage media, considers new technology, is more secure, more time- and energy-efficient.

IAITAM – International Association of IT Asset Managers

IAITAM is a global professional association for individuals and organizations involved in ITAM, SAM, HAM and the IT asset management lifecycle processes. IAITAM supports IT Asset Management with education, technical certification, and networking opportunities. The Association hosts events to connect all ITAM practitioners and services providers and also develops industry best practices to enhance ROI, efficiency and professional development.

Guardian Data Destruction is a proud member of IAITAM. See all our memberships and certifications >  

Ask for a copy of our most recent IAITAM ACE presentation: Uncommon places your company data may be stored (and waiting for a breach. 

Visit IAITAM >

i-SIGMA – International Secure Information Governance & Management Association (formerly NAID – National Association of Information Disposition)

i-SIGMA is the global industry trade association enforcing standards and ethical compliance for secure data destruction. Its most rigorous and widely accepted vendor services standard for electronic data security and compliance is NAID AAA certification. 

For ITAMs, i-SIGMA champions the protection of personally identifiable information (PII), intellectual property and regulatory compliance through secure disposition. As such, i-SIGMA maintains the most rigorous and widely accepted electronic data security, vendor-compliance certification: NAID AAA.

Guardian Data Destruction is a proud member of i-SIGMA and we have been NAID AAA certified since 2013. See all our memberships and certifications > 

Understanding the value of NAID AAA Certification >

Guardian Data Destruction’s Glenn Laga was elected to the NAID Board of Directors > 

Visit i-SIGMA >

ISO – International Organization for Standardization

IEC – International Electrotechnical Commission

ISO has developed over 24,000International Standards describing “the best way to do something” which includes IT Asset Management. ISO standards encompass quality, health and safety, environmental impact, energy consumption and IT security. 

The IEC develops international standards for any type of electrotechnology product in a vast range of commercial, industrial and household industries (i.e., anything electric, electronic and related). Associated with the standards are terminology, symbols, compatibility, measurement and performance, dependability, design and development, safety and the environment.

Together, the two organizations, ISO and IEC, work to develop, maintain, and promote standards in the fields of science and technology to create a safer and more efficient world.

Learn about the ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards for IT Information Security Management > 

See the full list of ISO standards >

View the IEC technical committees >

Visit ISO >

Visit IEC >

NIST – National Institute of Standards and Technology

A Federal agency under the US Department of Commerce, NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.

NIST’s scientific expertise and measurements, without being a regulatory agency, provide industries, organizations and companies with a universal method of trust in accuracy. The standards and measurements provide the basis for regulation to assure that stand-alone systems work with each other – even globally.

Visit NIST >

RIOS – Recycling Industry Operating Standard

RIOS is a global, integrated Quality, Environmental, Health and Safety Management System that is designed to assist Recyclers in their commitment to improving performance quality, the environment and employee health and safety. RIOS offers education, implementation guidance and third-party certification. 

Visit RIOS >

SERI – Sustainable Electronics

SERI is a global nonprofit focused on environmental sustainability and health and safety resulting from the processing (or lack of) of used and end-of-life (e-scrap) electronics, while maximizing the social and economic value presented by this equipment. SERI is an ANSI Accredited Standards Development Organization and is made up of collaborative stakeholders from businesses, individuals, government and institutions. SERI has developed and administers the R2 Certification program which has been recently updated to R2v3.

Visit SERI >

Understanding this ITAM guide

Standards and the organizations that create and enforce them are essential to IT data security and asset disposition compliance. Selecting knowledgeable and certified  ITADs and VARs is a critical component of ITAM programs to ensure IT compliance, security and disposition.

Delivering IT services to the ITAM market

The IT environment is changing rapidly – keeping an ear to the ground, especially if you’re not attending industry events like IAITAM’s annual ACE, can be difficult. As a service provider to ITADs, read our Top 7 Trends and Takeaways from IAITAM 22.

If you are looking for a VAR or ITAD, we can help. We work with the largest and best of general and industry-specific agencies that can support you.

If you have any questions or feedback about our list of organizations and industries relevant to IT asset management, reach out to us. And stay tuned for our next final post-IAITAM ACE 2022 guide: Industry Standards and Certifications cited at IAITAM.

Got data? Our job is to ensure it’s destroyed>

With Guardian Data Destruction, you'll never have to worry or second-guess.

Get a quote Talk to us

Join our mailing list

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this